New wanna be antenna user needs direction please

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

heep70

Original poster
Mar 10, 2022
Bonney Lake wa
Hi, I am new to wanting to use an antenna and be cable free. Tired of paying for crap Cable TV! I have been monkeying around with a cheap one I got of amazon. Works pretty good but the stations kinda fad in and out. I am looking for recommendations to what antenna would work best in my area. Something simple and sweet. I do have a older powered antenna rotatory I can use to help out. I would like to get as many channels as possible of course but the main channels I would like would be 4, 5, 7, 11, & 13 for western Washington state. I did the rabbitEars search and this is what I came up with. Any help to ease the pain of searching for an antenna would be fantastic. Thank you, Greg

Looks like the ones you most want are all UHF. Oh, wait. 11 is on RF11... This would cause me to recommend the one I use (which reaches from northern VA past the DC stations all the way to Baltimore) which works just fine for my high VHF stations 7 and 9. But those are all in one direction, whereas your stations are spread out all over the place. :(

Which antenna do you use?

The channels 4, 5, 7, 11 & 13 are all in the (true) direction range of 344.9 - 348.4 degrees. Just in the poor category. With that cheap antenna I do get all but channels 4 and 13. They also fade sometimes. As I mentioned above I do have a motor to remotely turn the mast so I can move it to the desired channel.