Newbie here, looking to get satellite...DirecTV or Dish Network

blove145

Original poster
Jul 15, 2004
I'm in the NYC area and was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction, all feedback is welcomed. DTV and Dish are the 2 that I'm looking into, are there any others? Does 1 have better service than the other? Hows the quality and sound of both? Which satellites and which receivers they offer are better, worse...etc I'm only looking for TV, Internet capabilities is not an issue. Pros and Cons of each based on your opinions is fine with me. Please let me know, thanks for taking time out to read my post and help me out :)

Coke or Pepsi?
Paper or Plastic?
Ford or GM?
Honda or Harley?

What do all these have in common? They are all up to the individual. FIRST thing you do, before you look at anything else...look at the programming packages available on each service. Find out what YOU like. For example, if you want to pay for out of market NFL football games (NFL Sunday Ticket), you want DirecTV. You can stop looking at Dish. They can't offer that package until at the very least 2006 and probably not even then.

However, if you want international programming or certain specific channels that Dish has and DirecTV doesn't, then you want Dish and you can stop looking at DirecTV. And yes, those are your only two choices for US service. That is unless you count Sky Angel, an independent 32 channel Christian service which is available on Dish Network equipment (different company though)

Only if the programming choices and price-points are a wash do you start to look at anything else.

Picture quality is a constant argument. Again, it's in the eye of the beholder. However the consensus is,
Dish = Softer picture with less visible digital artifacts.
DirecTV = sharper picture with noticabley more visible artifacts.