Newbie question about baseball blackouts

Status
Please reply by conversation.

sgordon77

Original poster
Jul 30, 2005
I'm new to DirecTV. I've only had it for about 3 hours now and I like it so far. I've searched the forums, and I couldn't really find an answer to this. My question is about the FSN/Fox Sports Net and RNA channels. I don't understand how the blackout rules work. I'm in southern New Jersey so I am part of the Philadelphia region. When I go to the games on either the FSN or RNA channels I get one of these 2 messages.

Program not Available in Your Area.

For Ordering Information Call Cust. Serv. Ext x721

I assume these games are being blacked out? The games I've selected are not on any local channel. How do the blackouts work? I'd like to watch Mets games on FSNY. How do I know if they'll be blacked out?

Thanks in Advance For Your Help!!!

I've done more reading on the MLB Blackouts. Why can't they make this simple? So I'm in Southern NJ. I get Phillies games on local channels. The Mets, Yankees, Orioles, Nationals, and Pirates are all within a reasonable distance from here. Will I be able to get the games of these teams on FSN/RNA channels if they're not televised on another station?

It actually is pretty simple. Since you are in the philadelphia area you can only watch phillies games. If you want to watch the mets or any other team from outside your area you have to subscribe to MLB EI.

I used to get weekend Mets games on WPIX. Now I don't get any. My uncle doesn't live close to any MLB team, so he gets Orioles, Nationales, Pirates, and Yankees games. So I get ripped of because I'm in the Philadelphia region? How do I know if I'm in the Philadelphia region? I live about 50 miles outside of Philly.

Are NHL and NBA the same way? So why do I have these RNA channels listed if I can't watch them?