Newbie question(s) - Galaxy 14

Status
Please reply by conversation.

kd6icz

Original poster
Sep 29, 2009
Pomona, CA
I am new to this hobby. I don't own any equipment yet and would like to know what I need to get started.

I am interested in receiving channels on Galaxy 14 - Music Choice. From what I can tell, these appear to fall under "Free to Air"????

What dish, LNB, and receiver do I need to get these C-band channels. It says they use digicipher II. I would assume the Motorola 922? As far as antennas go I haven't a clue.

Music Choice

is that all you want ? Music Choice
you would need it for Digicipher 2 . it would have to be all working and i do believe you would have to buy a channel to activate the Digicipher 2 unit.

someone will tell you about dish size.

good luck

Last edited:
I am new to this hobby. I don't own any equipment yet and would like to know what I need to get started.

I am interested in receiving channels on Galaxy 14 - Music Choice. From what I can tell, these appear to fall under "Free to Air"????

What dish, LNB, and receiver do I need to get these C-band channels. It says they use digicipher II. I would assume the Motorola 922? As far as antennas go I haven't a clue.

If you are not interested in the subscription channels, it is cheaper to get a *USED* commercial DCII receiver. The *FREE* digicipher channels are either ZK (unencrypted) or FP (a fixed process key). Most music channels, and a few video channels are ZK, but most free video channels are FP. A new DCII receiver can usually get ZK. I think that for a 4DTV like the 922 to get FP channels, you need to be authorized for something, but a commercial DCII receiver like a DSR4200 can receive FP channels if it has ever been authorized, even if not currently authorized, which is the reason that getting a used one is better than getting a new one. You can get a used 4200 for less than $50.