OTA reception expertise requested

Z06_Pilot

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Oct 11, 2009
Columbus, OH
hi folks,

I have a Radio Shack 360 degree UHF in my attic. I am running 50' of RG6 cable to a bi-directional splitter, providing the antenna reception to OTA adaptors in each of my 722k's.

I am 3.4 miles or less from the towers of my locals. all of them register 90 + consistently on my DVR power measurements.

whenever I am viewing an OTA HD channel on either 722k, I get 1 second audio dropouts every couple of minutes, regardless of the channel. this occurs during live broadcasts(and obviously on recorded material), but does not occur on my locals when viewing the satellite feed.

could this be an OTA module issue(but it happens on both of them). Do I need to mount a different style of antenna, and do a rooftop mount to eliminate this problem, even though my reception power is very high on all local OTA channels?

thanks.

Your omni directional antenna probably has an amplifier built in which you don't need. Put a $5 set of rabbit ears in that attic and see what your reception looks like at 3 miles.

Omni directional antenna's is not the proper way to receive a UHF signal.

Some buiding materials in your homes construction makes it opaque to UHF signals.

Your best bet is to use a good small directional antenna, pointed in the right direction.

The HBU 22 or the Winegard 7694P are both good examples of a short range combo antenna.

Depending on where you live, you might have VHF signals along with your UHF signals and a UHF antenna does not pick up very well - VHF signals.

JB, he's less than 4 miles from most towers, and they're spread over 110 degrees across the horizon. The omni isn't great, but it's far more practical than another option. VHF reception is not an issue, but beam width is.