Outside of Coverage Map Area/Weak Signal - Any hope in connecting to either of these satellites?

throw

Original poster
Mar 12, 2021
Northeast USA
Hi everyone,

I'm new to FTA and am excited to have found this forum at the beginning of this journey. I'm based in Boston and I am looking to connect to the NSS 12 57°E satellite. However, the coverage maps that I found here clearly leave out Boston and the rest of the Western Hemisphere. From some quick googling, it seems that not all coverage maps are spot on and that it can sometimes be possible to connect when the maps otherwise say you're out of range.

What I'm wondering is if there is any possibility of connecting to NSS 12 from Boston and if so, how would I go about it? How comically big of a satellite dish would it take? I'm guessing the margin for error here doesn't account for the oceans worth of distance between me and the stated coverage area but I thought it'd be worth the ask. I found a similar thread here and am afraid I have no hope in reaching NSS 12 from Boston - possible to connect to below horizon satellite?.

On a related note, I was also looking to connect to Eutelsat 8 West B at 8.0°W. The coverage map here says that Boston is indeed in range on both C and Ku bands, however it seems to be a pretty weak signal. I'm hoping someone can comment on if it would actually be worth the investment in equipment to pick up such a weak signal, and what dish/receiver might be recommended.

I appreciate the time and help in answering my questions!

:welcome to SatelliteGuys!!

It does not show North America for NSS-12 because it cannot be received here. No matter the size of the dish. Satellite aiming has to be direct line of sight.

Eutelsat 8 West B may be received at your location, but it will be a fight and not worth the investment for something other than bragging rights if you can make it work. There will be a lot of terrestrial noise at that low of an angle.

Hi everyone,