Phone line connection question

G Luis

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jun 1, 2005
Down the road a piece
Finally getting around to dumping my landline ... don't ask me why I've kept it to this point. Maybe just old school. Anyway, I'm going to be using an internet based service and was wondering if it will cause any issues with my VIP722? I would figure a phone connection is a phone connection, but just want to make sure.

Thanks in advance.

I used an internet based phone service for a couple of years--when I had my 722 and did not have any issues on Dish with it. Used it for the caller id.
This was my experience--others may have different outcomes.
I use Charter fiber link now.

They dropped the requirment of having a phone line several years ago. I've been using Vonage for at least 10 years and no connection to any of my dvr's.

I've never had a phone line connected to my 722. I use the ethernet connection instead, which gives me a lot more functionality anyway (downloadable movies, etc).

I'll always have a land line. The audio between my I Phone and land line is night and day. Believe it or not, I sometimes need my fax. Vonage is about 12.50$ a month, tax included. I pay a lot of money for 3 cell phones and am tired of dropped calls, etc. And contracts.

Reactions: sremick
I agree, nothing will replace a solid land line. But, let the masses do what the masses do...until they say, "Well maybe that was not such a smart idea after all".

Reactions: sremick
It's a phone line connection OR and internet connection. I got rid of my land-line earlier this year, but left the receiver hooked to the 'net, and it still "phones home" as needed.

You could disco both phone and Internet, and suffer no downside, unless you have many many receivers and can't pass an audit, or you order a lot of PPV or vod, both of which the average user would not be affected by.