Question for *E Installers

SatelliteGAL

Supporting Founder
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Sep 8, 2003
Amherst, NY (Buffalo suburb)
When you are contracted to go to upgrade a receiver for an existing customer do you have a way to know what equipment they have currently or Do you just have lnbs and switches for every application on your truck?

When I was a Dish RSP tech the work order had there current equipment on there but I would allways precall just to make sure so that I wouldn't drive out there and not have something I need

We only know what receivers you have, dish does not supply us with any information as to what lnbfs or switches, I work directly for dish however as BretTRay has put forth its possible that dish may have at one or still does supply this information to RSP's.

they never told us what kind of lnb or switch that they had but they would let us know if there was a second dish or superdish

You guys got lucky then, I dont know how many "500" upgrades Ive went out on only to find that the customer is pointed at a wing sat and they need a dish 500 installed. I know its symantics but there is a diference between an upgrade and an install.

Brett, the situation you described is occuring still with the RSP here in Ohio. The only information we have on our workorders are the type of receiver that is currently installed. No info about switches, LNBs, mirror-imaged outlets, etc. If the upgrade looks to be a nightmare in the making, I'll generally pre-call the customer the night before to get an overall picture of what I'm walking into.

I ALWAYS pre call, I have had to many Suprises, work orders which are wrong, etc. I have never gotten any info on the dish configuration from the work orders except that if you look at the customers programing and how long they have been a customer you can generaly guess the dish configuration and what switches they have. I try to keep most of the parts on my truck at all times.