Rack Mounted FTA w/HD Setup

Status
Please reply by conversation.

uwbadger28

Original poster
Jan 26, 2006
Hello,

I work for a Non Profit educational organization. I have been tasked with looking into a Satellite TV Receiver setup. We are interested in Ku and C band FTA. I am also curious about what is out there in terms of HD.

I am usually a computer/network guy, so I am very new to all of this, so please bear with me.

I have already consulted with a local sat vendor on a dish setup. The system they recommended for doing Ku/C band is as follows:

3.7m pt ant. w/Polar Mount
36" Venture Actuator
RC 1500 Controller
Chap Corotor C/Ku feed horn
Norsat 3220 PLL +/-10 kHz C-band LNB
Norsat 1207HA PLL +/- 25 kHz Ku LNB
200' Multi-Cable w/2 RG-6

The vendor I contacted does not sell Receivers.

The plan is to mount the dish to the top of our building, then run the mutli-cable to an equipment rack in a telecom closest on the top floor. The Ku and C band recievers would be in the rack, and there video output would be inserted into a video distribution system throughout the building.

I realize that this is a Ku band forum, so I will focus on that side of things for now.
So here are my many questions.

Because the receivers will be rack-mounted and will not be directly accessible, they will need to be controlled remotely (Is there such thing as an Ethernet enabled Receiver with a web interface? :) )

Also, How do you receive High Definition from a Ku Receiver?

The sat vendor I have been working with says that an AZ-EL Dish positioning system is not needed, however I have heard that they do provide for much better signal quality than a polar mount. Is an AZ-EL Dish mount worth the expense?

In the end, what I really need is a recommendation for a Broadcast quality FTA Receiver that can be controlled remotely and also does HD. Does such a thing exist?

Any light you can shed on this for e is greatly appreciated!

Hello and WELCOME to the SatelliteGuys.US FTA forum!