Status
Please reply by conversation.

Keystone7

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Oct 17, 2009
North Indiana
Hi eveyone,

I am new to the form and I hope this question is okay for this area. I am installing my new cable and need advise! I laid my new cable to my satellite dish which is 160 feet from the house. Me doing the bright thing, I cut my long cable to short. Is't along story, but I did. Should I run a new cable of RG6 or use a connector to connect the new 25 foot cable to make it the right lenght?
Which will bring up another question. Should I use an inline amp because of the lenght of cable? I am going to bury this cable few inches in ground. Anyone with ideas, please help. I need to complete this install before it gets to cold here in northern Indiana.:confused:

You shouldn't need an amp, but I wouldn't bury a spliced cable. I'd roll the cable up and save it for something else, and bury two cables ( I'd always have a spare) to your dish . Burying a few inches down is not according to NEC, but I know the cable companies do it all the time. Better would be putting it in PVC in a shallow trench, for protection against accidental cutting it.

I'd have to vote for new complete cable run, much as it may cost it will be less troublesome than a barrel-connector installed to piece the cable together. You wouldn't want a connector like that buried anyway, even though I'm sure there are waterproof ways to do it. Water seems to always find a way to get into anything buried. Wouldn't worry about inline amps for cable run of that distance either. Some of the members here have way longer lenghts on their free to air dishes..