Scared to move..talk me off the ledge

sprinklerguy

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 16, 2003
Hi guys...pondering a move so I can get HD networks...

some have said that after the move they still had their normal locals as well.....I wonder what the odds are that I will still have them so the wife can watch her news...

I am in a tricky area according to antennaweb.org and may not be able to get my locals via antenna...which is why I am worried...

Any thoughts on the odds?

thanks

I've never "moved," so I have no experience, but I don't think the odds of keeping your current locals after a "move" are good.

Would you get HD locals from 129? If so, have you checked out the uplink reports for Ciel-2 that is about to be lit up? There are a ton of new HD locals on that thing. Maybe yours are among them.

I really need it to be "lit up" before the superbowl...having a party at my place....may have to move and then move back.....

some have said that after the move they still had their normal locals as well.....I wonder what the odds are that I will still have them so the wife can watch her news...

I am in a tricky area according to antennaweb.org and may not be able to get my locals via antenna...which is why I am worried...

thanks

These are mistakes on E*'s part. When you "move" to another DMA, the locals on satellite for your actual DMA are deauthorized and instead you will have the locals for the "new" DMA as long as you are in the beam carrying those locals. If you're going to move either pick a market with a spotbeam you're under or one on a 129 CONUS beam. Which sats do you receive?

You're running short of time. Why not stick up an antenna and see whether you can get the OTA stations that way as an insurance policy if nothing else.

I need a large preamp type antenna....I wish it were as easy as just "sticking" one up....