Seattle: No FOX hd?

chrischris

Original poster
Feb 9, 2007
Hey guys. Sorry if I come off as ignorant, but this is my first post. The Dish guy just installed my new system tonight. I have never used a Satellite system before, but Comcast finally pissed me off enough to call Dish.

My setup is two tvs, running off of one dvr-hd box. When I ordered the system, the lady told me that FOX does not have a dedicated hd channel, but any program that reads "in high def" at the bottom of the screen when the show starts (basically all primetime shows) I would receive in a hd broadcast.

However, this does not seem to be the case. Was I lied to? Thanks for any info.

Here is a link to a lengthy thread regarding this:

http://www.satelliteguys.us/showthread.php?t=61848

In short, KCPQ (Fox) does broadcast HD. Dish intended to carry it back in May when Local HD was brought to Seattle but was not able to negotiate a deal with Tribune (owns the Seattle and Sacramento Fox affiliates). You can form your own conclusions as to who is in the wrong. But the sad result is we are in limbo as far as Dish retransmitting the HD signal.

KCPQ does broadcast an HD signal Over the Air (OTA). That is what most of us are relying on. It works great and the 622 will record those programs just like all the programs that come in off the dish. In Seattle it requires a UHF antenna. Check out this site to see what strength antenna you will need:

http://www.antennaweb.org/aw/welcome.aspx

I am in the Mill Creek area and happen to be in the shadow of a large hill blocking my path to the the broadcast antennas but still get decent results using a Channel Master Yagi (CM4248). Other people do just fine using using just an indoor antenna. It all depends on location.

If you can get a clear signal OTA the picture it produces is fantastic. Better than the what you'd get from dish's retransmission.

Good luck.