Signal just died on me

KDRE

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 28, 2004
Dont know what to do. I had to make a service call, unfortunately I have to leave probably before they make it here, so is there anything I may do to fix this myself, because if not, Im going to have to go another WEEK without service.

I only remember getting an error message, something about a check switch or something of that nature.

Called tech support, went through the entire reboot the box thing, nothing.

On the system info screen, 119 has a big red X under it as if the dish cant get the signal.

I was asked to perform some test, and that is also what it ended up as... a red X under 119

If the dish is off alignment, (I dont see how it could be) I have no clue where 119 is pointed, so I wouldnt know how to repoint the dish..

Any suggestions fellas?

I am no expert, but I would try a few things...
Check cable connections on your unit, and at the dish/LNBF, and any switches you may have.
What type of dish/LNBF do you have? If it is a bad LNBF, they are easy to replace.
Tom in TX

If you have 110 and you're still getting a signal then it could likely be that the LNB for 119 has failed, since most dishes do both 110 and 119 on the same thingy.

look for obstructions in front of the dish. Look slightly to the right of where the dish is pointed, look for new tree growth. Check all your connections. Try every bit of wiring from the dish to the receiver. Any connections should be completely free of corrosion. If you look down inside of the connections, you should see white dialectric around the center conductor, it should not be brown or gray. Try switching the input side of your LNB (the thingy that sticks out on the end of the dish). Try switching receiver's if you have more than one. There's a million and one things that could be wrong, so check those and you'll have roughly 999,998

lol... man I did all of the box checking I could. Im going to go on the roof after work.