Simple wiring question...

RobertsD

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Nov 22, 2005
Layton, UT
Hi guys, great boards :)

Anyways, I am pretty new to Dish/Satellite TV(1 1/2 months) and have a question.

I currently have one satellite feed going to my 811, but I will be replacing the 811 with a 942. Since the 942 needs two satellite feeds, will another line need to be run, or can I just use a simple splitter, and split the single feed into both tuners of the 942?

I don't know much about the hardware that I have, other then I have a Dish 1000, and in the System Info screen, it says device: DPP-Twin-1.

Thanks for any help you guys can give me.

RobertsD

RobertsD said:
In system info, under devcie it says DPP-Twin-1.

So the one I linked to at radio shack will not work? I would much rather just go out and buy it at a store then order it online.
Nope it looks like a regular splitter,

One non-tech to another, the DPP technology, as i understand it, allows 2 signals on 1 cable, the seperator seperates those 2 signals and sends 1 to each tuner as opposed to a splitter that just sends signals to 2 places, the tuners dont know what to do with this.
Well that's my non-technical description anyway :D

Last edited:
Ok, I'll get the DPP Seperator, thanks for your guys help.

Oh, one last question, this will still work even though the installer has already put some kind of seperator on the line going into the 811 for the OTA signal right? Or does that make it much more complicated?

So to shorten my question, I'll be able to just put the DPP seperator after the SAT/OTA seperator right?

RobertsD said:
I currently have one satellite feed going to my 811, but I will be replacing the 811 with a 942.

Are you sure Dish will activate your used 942 when you get it??

fred

He put a diplexer there, not a separator. Yes, between the diplexer and the STB.