Spectrum Internet to TV for channels

Discussion in 'Broadband Internet' started by chuckster_dude, Dec 21, 2017.

  1. chuckster_dude

    chuckster_dude Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    324
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    I have DISH and will soon be getting Spectrum Internet and phone service for my home. I had read awhile ago that if you hook the coaxial cable to your TV and let the TV scan, that you can get basic local cable channels through it even though you only have Internet service.

    Is that still true? Do channels run through the cable even if you only get the Internet service?

    If it's true, I was going to put the Internet modem next to my TV and use a splitter to send one line to the modem and the other line to the TV.
     
  2. *** WELCOME TO SATELLITEGUYS! ***
  3. osu1991

    osu1991 SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2004
    Posts:
    8,762
    Likes Received:
    1,434
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
    Try it to see, many have gone to encrypting the locals now that they are no longer required to keep them open for basic packages. Cox moved theirs to encrypted and require a Cox mini box now for locals, whereas for several years I got them with just internet service.
     
    bhawley likes this.
  4. dweber

    dweber SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    349
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Plain City, OH
    Time Warner added a filter at the pole to prevent locals if you only had internet.
     
  5. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    12,845
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    You'll need to ask someone nearby what they do. I'm guessing that Charter is still working on their digital upgrades so what's going on in your back yard is probably different from what's happening in other Charter service areas.

    Any more, if the cable company doesn't specifically say that Internet service includes lifeline TV, you probably can't get it.
     
    primestar31 likes this.
  6. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    10,359
    Likes Received:
    1,669
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    Likely there is a filter in the line.
     
  7. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    12,845
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Filters are out of favor as they pose a threat to cable modems.
     
  8. Claude Greiner

    Claude Greiner SatelliteGuys Master
    Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Posts:
    10,359
    Likes Received:
    1,669
    Location:
    Detroit - The Paris of the Midwest
    I agree but certain providers still use them.

    Unless the system is 100% digital encrypted they require the filters
     
  9. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    12,845
    Likes Received:
    1,097
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    I have my doubts that they find use outside of the mom-and-pop systems. Remember we're talking about Charter here who has transitioned to some manner of "digital cable" in most all of their markets.
     
  10. Nascarken 91xg

    Nascarken 91xg SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Posts:
    210
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Southbrige mass
    CABLE company's are going up on their junk again for what too pay for their filters ??
     
  11. chuckster_dude

    chuckster_dude Topic Starter SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Posts:
    324
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Buffalo, NY
    I was able to get basic channels through a splitter with one coax to the modem and one right to the TV. Problem is that the Internet won't work doing that so I cant split it. My house is wired with coax going to every room (previous owners had TVs in every room) so I have to go to the basement to see if I can take one of the other lines that goes to a room without a TV and move it to my main TV room (I only have 1 TV and want to keep it that way).
     
  12. EarDemon

    EarDemon SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    793
    Likes Received:
    223
    Location:
    USA
    Just an FYI, Charter is starting to remove analog channels in WNY. My part of the Rochester division went analog free last week and they will do it in stages throughout the rest of the Winter and early Spring. So any analog channels that you're getting will be short lived.
     



***

Separate names with a comma.

More...