Splitting Satellite Signal

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

head_penguin

Original poster
Sep 9, 2010
Missouri
I am new to satellite and we just got it a week ago. We have the DISH 500 with a duo DVR receiver i believe. we have it hooked up to 2 TVs but was wondering if there was a way to split it to 4 TVs total, i have heard u can use a splitter and mirror the signal so that 2 TVs view the same thing but i was wondering if there was a way to do it with out the TVs being the same. Any help will be greatly appreciated. I am not very knowledgeable about this subject but i will do my best to tell any more information thats needed.

thanks

You can split the NTSC output signal all you want with the 2 outputs--TV1 and TV2.

You cannot split the signal from the dish, per se. You can have a switch which does do this but is much more expensive, maybe $100 for a DPP33 or $200 (from Dish) for a DPP44, I know less about the DPP34.

These have multiple inputs (satellites) and multiple outputs. The 44 switch will band stack two signals for the dual tuner DVRs like the VIP722 so you can use a (band) separator on each cable at the dual-tuner receiver. Some of the LNBs have switches that allow up to 3 outputs but not 4, quad LNB does 4 single bands but only has 2 sats. Some problems reported on the switched LNBs with a following switch although their switch is supposed to be disabled.

Do not buy a multi-switch, it is for Direct or single LNB configurations only.
-Ken

Last edited: