TBS6981 DVB-S2 problems

Status
Please reply by conversation.

jimlas53

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Aug 18, 2010
SC
I'm trying to get a Turbosight TBS6981 PCIe dual tuner card running in a Ubuntu 10.04 HTPC. The card comes with a set of S2 API Ver 5 drivers which were built and installed.
I am very new to satellite systems, bought a Geosatpro 90cm dish and DSR200 receiver with a SG2100 motor to move the dish. I am pointed at a sat getting good SQ, but the TBS card can not tune or scan.
Does anyone have any constructive suggestions to help troubleshoot the problem?
Thanks in advance!

have you tried s2-liplianin ?

hg clone s2-liplianin: Summary
make menuconfig
make
sudo make install

I recommend only selecting the stuff you need. I use it for my Prof 7500, Igor (the author) seems to keep pretty upto date with bug fix's for a variety of tuners.

have you tried s2-liplianin ?

make menuconfig
make
sudo make install

How do I set this up? I installed mercurial, but it expects a repo??
I get errors trying to build the drivers that came with the prof 7500, and also the ones I downloaded from their website:

make
make -C /shared/prof7500/v4l
make[1]: Entering directory `/shared/prof7500/v4l'
scripts/make_makefile.pl
Updating/Creating .config
Preparing to compile for kernel version 2.6.24
File not found: /lib/modules/2.6.24-19-generic/build/.config at ./scripts/make_kconfig.pl line 32, <IN> line 4.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/shared/prof7500/v4l'
make[1]: Entering directory `/shared/prof7500/v4l'
Updating/Creating .config
Preparing to compile for kernel version 2.6.24
File not found: /lib/modules/2.6.24-19-generic/build/.config at ./scripts/make_kconfig.pl line 32, <IN> line 4.
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `.myconfig', needed by `config-compat.h'. Stop.
make[1]: Leaving directory `/shared/prof7500/v4l'
make: *** [all] Error 2
I'm running 2.6.32-25, I don't know where it is getting the kernel number.