The recording is frustrating with Dish Network?

lltbake

Original poster
Sep 16, 2011
Washington State
Hi ALL, I am a newbie here. We just switched from Direct Tv to Dish Network, we liked Direct TV but Dish offered a better deal.
OK so here are my questions...:confused:

Say you are on a channel for a while and you hit record, will the recording just start when you hit the button, do you have to rewind, can you rewind to the beginning of the show and them record?? This is so frustrating and such a change from Direct TV....
Info about this please? Thanks!
~Also I am totally confused with the recording issues and having one bo run two tv's recording...Dont have a question yet. :D

Read the users manual. I could spend time typing, but the answers to your questions are sitting somewhere in you home.

After you hit the record button, press 'Options' and then 'record entire event' and it starts form the beginning. That was too much for KAB to type out... ;)

It will be from the point that he tuned to the ch. If it wasn't at the start of the prgm then it won't record from the start.

True dat! But then the OP asked "Say you are on a channel for a while and you hit record, will the recording just start when you hit the button, do you have to rewind, can you rewind to the beginning of the show and them record??" So, it's a moot point isn't it....

I don't understand why it's frustrating. It's a new system (to you) why would you think it would be the same as a totally different company's receiver? I would be more sympathetic if you said you read the manual but still didn't understand. Maybe even just try it and see what happens??
Btw, if you were happy with Direct unless it is a boatload of savings (and it's not except perhaps for the first months or year or so unless you have a smaller program package) changing providers to me makes no sense. In any event, there are going to be many changes from what you had so probably time to read the manual and experiment.