Total Newbie Question

Status
Please reply by conversation.

tase2

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Nov 1, 2004
Thinking about getting DirecTV. not positive if I have an unobstructed view of the southern sky or not. The is an opening or two. Is there anyway to find out if Sat will work prior to buying system and having it installed? For example would Radio Shack carry some type of gadget or gismo that might help?

Thanks
Mark

Get a compass from sporting good store like this one. could be have for 9.99.

http://www.briski.us/Backpacking/gear/compass.jpg

Goto

http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/DishPointerServlet

enter your zipcode at the bottom it will give you where the signal be coming from and your elevation. Use the compass to figure out where it pointing, try it from different locations that compass point to lowest points of the tree line and guesstimate the elevation if you don't have inclinometer. Directv 101 satallite is located on the best slot on the obit for north America so you should not have too much problem with trees.

PSB said:
Welcome to SatelliteGuys.US

Its worth the extra $ to hire a licensed professional installer with the correct tool to work out exactly what satellites you can and cant get from your area! Saves a lot of heart break, days off work....

Where is a good place to find a professional installer? Do I call Directv or are there installers listed in the Yellow Pages?

What would you guesstimate they would charge?

Thanks
Mark

There is no shame in hiring a LICENSED Professional, they (should) carry the correct sight survey tool that not only works as a compass but also an inclinometer letting you know if the satellite signal can be received OVER any obstacles ,every man to his own trade!

Try Here...

www.dbsinstall.com