Totally new DISH user

bobmorning

Original poster
Mar 12, 2009
Pennsylvania
I don't want to take up a lot of your time so I'll be very brief:

I going to be moving to a new home (zip code 17225) that already has DISH network, I 've never had satellite before (bye bye Comcast!). The disk itself conveys but the owner is taking the receiver. I work in IT so I'm technically literate, but there is a lot to learn.

I've been googling for hours to learn on my own but the quality of responses here seems first rate so here goes:

1) Can I do this myself (receiver install)? The dish is already pointing at something (I hope) and the cabling is in place.

2) Do rent or buy the receiver(s)?

3) Any good links on how to get smart on this real fast?

4) I am going to have 3 TVs 2 HD, 1 SD. If you were going to do this, how would you do it, what would you buy, and how (online, retailer)?

If this has been covered before, my apologies in advance, just point me in the right direction and I'll only come back if I still have valid questions.

Thanks in advance for any pointers.

Bob

Last edited:
I don't want to take up a lot of your time so I'll be very brief:

I going to be moving to a new home that already has DISH network, I 've never had satellite before (bye bye Comcast!). The disk itself conveys but the owner is taking the receiver. I work in IT so I'm technically literate, but there is a lot to learn.

I've been googling for hours to learn on my own but the quality of responses here seems first rate so here goes:

1) Can I do this myself (receiver install)? The dish is already pointing at something (I hope) and the cabling is in place.

2) Do rent or buy the receiver(s)?

3) Any good links on how to get smart on this real fast?

4) I am going to have 3 TVs 2 HD, 1 SD. If you were going to do this, how would you do it, what would you buy, and how (online, retailer)?