Treatment of Women at Echostar

Status
Not open for further replies.

Victrix

Original poster
Feb 14, 2008
This is a reponse to the thread found here: http://www.satelliteguys.us/dish-network-forum/23207-former-exec-sues-dish-network.html

I tried to reply to that thread, but it said that it's too old. So I'm posting this here. Not to vent, not to cause trouble, but just to state facts about what I've seen go on. And I'm sure I'm not the only one. I've never written out about this before, but feel like doing it, finally.

There is something to be said about the culture in Echostar, at least while I was there. I was fired in 2002.

It's been five and a half years now since I left the company, and have never told this story. But seeing this thread, I thought I'd stop by and write my mind finally.

I worked under Maria Iglesias who worked under Bruce Peckham, and Mary Davidson in Retail Services, helping to resolve issues with retailer commissions.

A really nice lady, Renee, had her station next to mine and she was the trainer there.

I actually started out in Customer Service, but there was at the time a class action lawsuite against Echostar by the retailers because of the commissions, and Charlie Ergen had asked VP Soyra-Cartwright to get the most talented CSRs over to retail services to help them. Well she choose your humble servant.

I will tell you Retail Services was a joke. When I got there, the few employees there sat around and chatted and joked, and called their moms and their moms friends, and emailed and chatted all day. All the while emails and faxes were pileing up from dealers that had questions on their commission payments, at that time we payed on Primary Activation, FPI, and Flex, something like that, it's been awhile.