Two locations, same account?

irviii

Original poster
Oct 5, 2004
I'm a newbie, so ya'll are going to have to dumb some of the responses down a bit.
I currently have 3 dish recievers hooked up to my satellite dish. We live out in the country and have a big piece of property with a house and a barn/apartment. I'd like to put a dish on the barn and recieve tv that way rather than trying to run a cable a 1/4 mile long. Is this possible, or will dish want to charge me twice as much for a new account?
I've got an unused dish DVR510, and a "Dish Pro" antenna a friend gave me. How would I go about hooking this up? The dish pro has two lines coming out, and the lnb is marked 110w and 119w. Is this a twin or dual lnb? I'm confused as to what the difference/ significance is. I understand different channels come on different ends, but do they need to be connected before going to the the reciever. Will a regular splitter work?
Also, lots of trees. Any good tips from the masters? How big of a "hole" do I need to get to recieve a good signal.
Thanks a million,
Irving
Austin, Texas

Same user, same property. I say it's one account - just hook it up.

If the LNBF is wide - that is, one housing, two eyes, it's a Twin or Quad. If so, only one cable is needed. Check this page for more info: http://www.switchinfo.info/lnbs.html

NEVER put a splitter on a satellite feed cable (yes, I know there's exceptions - but not for this setup).

As for the trees, that's too generic a question - it all just depends. however, down there you're loking pretty high, so the trees would have to be tall and close. Don't make the mistake of thinking the dish is looking where it's pointed - the satellite is actually about 20 degrees higher than what you think. ;)

That reminds me of some customers that have a garage next to their house in which they want a satellite receiver put there as well. I see no problem with that.

It's all good now