ViewSat PVR 7000...screwy sat meter?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

markofca

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Apr 4, 2007
I just bought and successfully installed a ViewSat 7000 PVR from Gosatellite.com. It was one of their kits with Winegard DS2076, Digipower SG-2100 motor, and Invacom quad LNBF.

Everything works and I'm hitting satellites from east to west (yes, it took 3 days but I learned a lot in the process). Only problem is that the signal meter on the receiver is completely screwy. After wasting a day trying to understand it (I'm new to FTA), I went and bought a hand-held meter and was able to get everything pointed in a couple hours.

When you go to the installation antenna setup menu on the receiver, select a satellite, and then attempt to adjust the dish using the motor menu, Q stays at 0 and S also (!) goes to zero after a few seconds EVEN IF YOU'RE POINTED DIRECTLY AT THE SATELLITE.

I've messed with the LNB settings in the menus until I'm blue in the face (including calling gosatellite and using their settings). I know I'm pointed correctly because my handheld meter is screaming AND MORE IMPORTANTLY, if I do a blind scan, the receiver retrieves all of the channels and I can watch the retrieved channels. Also, during the blind scan, the receiver shows a Q meter which works correctly.

So, I think I'm wired up right...it just seems like the software on the ViewSat that shows the meter is screwy. I updated firmware. No help.