Viewsat Ultra. Strong "S", NO "Q" on 97.0 W

Status
Please reply by conversation.

twinbee

Original poster
Oct 30, 2010
Texas
I am an FTA newbie trying to do a first time KU-band. I have experience with C-Band from back in the day.

I have a 33" dish, DGL-780 Standard Linear Single LNB, and a Viewsaty Ultra V2000 receiver that I bought all used. No motors or switches are involved and only a short run of RG-6.

I am trying to pick up Galaxy 19 at 97.0 W with clear LOS from Dallas, TX.

The problem is that I get "S" of 80+, but "Q" is always 00, no matter what transponder I am looking for, or even which satellite. The same goes for 119 W, and 101 W.

I am using both a compass and Android Dish Pointer Pro to verify that I am pointed at those birds. Blind scan when I have high "S" also gives nothing. My inclination angle is 51 deg as was suggested by Dish pointer for Dallas. I have tried a LNB skew of +6 deg and also with no skew.

Here are the Settings I am using:

Sat: Galaxy 19
LNB Type: Standard
TP Freq: 12060 Hz
LNB Freq: 10750 Hz
22 Khz: none
DisEQc: none

What am I doing wrong, or what should I try next? Any help is appreciated.