ViP 622 MAC Address?

HDinTX

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Dec 6, 2005
Is there a MAC address associated with the ethernet port on the ViP 622?

My ViP's have not requested an IP address via DHCP at this point. Any network types put a LAN analyzer on a ViP model to see if they send any packets when they're plugged in?

My ViP's have not requested an IP address via DHCP at this point. Any network types put a LAN analyzer on a ViP model to see if they send any packets when they're plugged in?

When (if) activated, you will have an additional screen in the setup menu to request DHCP or assign it an IP as not all systems will work with DHCP.

At this point, it works as well as the firewire port on the 921 :)

While I've been working / living in the world of computers for over 20 years, I have learned never to assume I know anything. In connecting my 622, it has the ability to make its connection known as the router lights up for the port it's connected to. Beyond that, my sniffer sees no communications at all. It doesn't try to find a DHCP server, nor does it try to assert and address of its own. It just has power on the link to light up the router connection and that's it. If it's trying to do anything else, it's very good at stealth. I'm looking for violated cows, anal probe with my name one it and the return of stupid pet tricks on David Letterman, but so far nothing! :(

While I've been working / living in the world of computers for over 20 years, I have learned never to assume I know anything. In connecting my 622, it has the ability to make its connection known as the router lights up for the port it's connected to.
The router lights up to indicate there's a physical connection, i.e. continuity. It means nothing more...

And what you mean 'sniffer' ? What kind of 'router' you have ? If it manageble switch/hub in reality - ask for ARP cash table; same for real router.