VIP622 remote question....

Sicemdawgs

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Nov 22, 2004
Suwanee, GA
I have a VIP622 and the remote is a 5.3 IR. I am having a problem with it controlling my new Harman/Kardon AVR240 receiver.

The remote accepts the 3 codes in the Dish manual. But the remote will only turn the H/K receiver ON, it will not turn it OFF. Has anyone else had this problem and does anyone know of a solution? I need the Dish remote to do this for the WAF (one remote for her=good).

I don't have my manual handy, but if there is more than one code for that device, try changing the codes again, until you find one that will turn it on and turn it off.

The original remote on some systems have separate on and off buttons to turn the device (or part of the device) on and off.

I'm not an expert on IR remotes, but on such devices, I believe the OFF button will toggle the system on and off, where-as the ON button will only turn it on, no matter how many times you press it. (Maybe that's the other way around.)

Bottom line, you need to find the code that will toggle it ON and OFF, each time you hit the ON button.

EDIT -- It's been a little while since I set up my 622 remotes, but I believe besides entering the code, you had to enter a prefix before the code for AUX. If the code was 123, you may have had to enter 3123. I had forgot to do that the first go round.

Last edited:
I tried that, same result.

I believe the problem stems from the fact that the H/K has seperate remote buttons for ON and OFF. Since the Dish remote only has a Power button, it may only be capable of doing one command.

I am looking into the Harmony remotes as we post.

Sicemdawgs said:
I tried that, same result.

I believe the problem stems from the fact that the H/K has seperate remote buttons for ON and OFF. Since the Dish remote only has a Power button, it may only be capable of doing one command.

I am looking into the Harmony remotes as we post.