What it takes to lay my own T1 or other data cable?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

arikeden

Original poster
Mar 1, 2011
Virginia
I did consider satellite Internet, but I need reliable, always-on (even in bad weather) connection. I'm an IT security consultant and need connection that supports VPN and high bandwidth. Satellite plans that support VPN are very expensive and make T1 look very attractive. FAPs are a show-stopper because I do need to move lots of data at times. I was offered t1, but they wanted something like $600/month. They would have to lay cable about a mile or two along a freeway. I'm wondering if my own company lays that cable (or other medium): 1. is it subject to franchise agreement with my county? 2. who would own the cable? Is it true ownership? 3. Would my company then be able to sell the use of that cable? 4. What types of permits would I need: just county or some federal as well? Please enlighten me. Thanks.