What satellites do what & which dish do I need?

CochiseGuy

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Feb 6, 2006
Cochise County, Arizona
Hopefully this new thread does not re-hash what is detailed in other threads; I've searched & don't find it, and as a realtive newbie, I'm confused.

I currently have a Dish 500 Twin and 811 receiver with the "old" HD mpeg2 package. I have no contract committment, and would prefer to keep it that way.
I want to get the additional HD channels. As I understand it, I need to get the add'l HD channels from 61.5 or 129. I don't need locals, I get them OTA and Tucson locals are not available in HD on Dish.

When I go into the receiver's setup, it says I'm receiving on 119 & 110. So I assumed I needed to upgrade to a Dish 1000 to get that 3rd satellite reception. I was considering purchasing a 211 to avoid the new 18 mo. committment with the Dishin' it Up program. But I decided having to upgrade this dish also was just going to be too expensive & bothersome. So I ordered the $49 upgrade for both the receiver & dish; they come out Thursday morning.

After reading in the Dish HD forum about signal strength problems a on sat. 129, I decided to go through my receiver's "Point Dish" area and write down what signal strength I currently have on 119 & 110, and make sure I have equal or better signal strength on 119, 110, plus the new 129 after installation. Toggling through the satellite positions, I was surprised to find:
129 - 93/94 - "Unknown satellite"
121 - 93/94 - "Wrong sat - E* 119 West"
119 - 93 - "Locked, E* 119 West"
110 - 72 - "Locked, E* 110 West"

So, I already have great reception on 129 - is it showing up as "Unknown" becuase that sat. talks mpeg4 & my receiver is only mpeg2?

What I really wanted to do was go with the HD Stand Alone - no SD programming, no locals, but you cannot do that & qualify for the Dishin' it Up upgrade. If I purchase a 211 & use my current dish, will the current satellite reception give me what I need?