Who is interested in helping to suggest ideas for a Man Cave?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cjwct

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 2, 2006
Glastonbury, CT
Hello Everyone.

I have been sitting in my current Man Cave for two years now and as much as I like it, its time to get a little more manly. Currently, I have a 51" Hitachi CRT, 2 black leather couches, 3 glass tables (1 long one and 2 end tables) and a fireplace. I am attaching a very rough schematic of my basement with a list of my ideas and questions.

Considering I will be getting married in July and the economy is not getting any better, this is a dream of mine which I do not see coming into fruition for at least a year. Therefore, if you rather not contribute at this time, I certainly will respect and appreciate that.

If you are interested in helping, please see attached and send ideas with links.

Thanks ahead of time . . . Happy Holidays!

Attachments

• Dream Cave.doc
    30.5 KB · Views: 181
It cannot be a true man cave without a front projector. That TV is too small for that large room. Then you need to paint the walls as dark as possible, ideally flat black. And a fireplace in a man cave? NOT!!!

This might (or might not) get more looks in our HT sub forums... :) Like Jim says consider a FPTV... prices are falling and you can be quite happy with a 720p or one of the newer sub 1k 1080p FPTV's that are hitting the market and start from there.

good suggestions but again, not thinking of the type of tv or projector for a while . . . plus, would not know where to place screen except for where tv is now and that kind of "splits' the room and makes it feel smaller; was hoping to use fireplace as center of attention thus placing television above it

also, the room is already very dark (no windows, no outside doorways, walls are painted a dark merlot color)