Why are voOm's Movie Packs are more than Dish/Direct?

jagouar

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jul 29, 2004
College Station, TX
Im assuming because of E/W feed but and other reason beyond that? Seems they would/should offer just one and match the competarors price....

Ive "had" starz on my account the past few days and Ive been impressed with its content and considered adding it to my account but 20/month for one movie pack is awfully high.

I know most have va va voom but Im on base pack and will stay on base pack because I am still a poor college student and cant afford to drop 80/month for sat service.

I do see for example that Sho and Starz packs also include a 3rd HD channel (TMC and EncoreHD)... I can buy that....

Any recommendations on wether you would rather have Starz E/W and EncoreHD or Sho E/W and TMC-HD?

Probably going to add one in march when I get my dvr... namely pq (most important) and oar are my big wants out of my movie package.

Greed, period. There is no justification for the extra expense, the other providers don't even charge for the HD channel if you buy a package. If they would lower them, I just might purchase one, but at $20/channel, forget it and I can't afford the whole shaVoom.

SUbscribe to all four. Then they are only 10.00 dollars a month. The price structure is obviously geared to entice customers to sub to vavavoom. But on the other hand you get twice the channels as D* or E*.

jagouar said:
I agree it is nice but 90 bucks monthly for programming is a bit much....
I can understand that. In my case, it was a good deal. Before VaVaVoom I used to pay $40 per month for lawn maintenance. When I decided to go upgrade to VaVaVoom I made a deal with myself: do the lawn maintenance myself and use the $40 for VaVaVoom. THe deal turn out to be better because I was also able to reduce the family Blockbuster expenses (~$30/month).