Would cutting off 25ft of cable from Dish to receiver help PQ?

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

david4455

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Jan 1, 2006
I was outside today and noticed that I have 100 ft cable running from my dish to my receiver....I could probaby cut off 25 feet or so to shorten the cable....do you think this might help a little bit with PQ.
( It's not bad but I do get a little pixel problem since I upgraded to a HD TV.....)

My chief concern is that I am not an expert at putting on connectors on a rg 6 cable.....so I am not sure it is worth the "gamble"....

No, cutting 25 ft. won't help improve picture quality. With digital signals you either get the picture or you don't. With Dish Pro technology you can have 200 ft cable runs from the LNBs to receivers.

I think you need to look at your signal strength first, you may have low signals thus the pixelations. What kind of receiver? Any switches? Do you have a D1000 by any chance?

cable length is fine, receiver type is fine to, its the fact that your running an sd video output on an hd set. Try putting new cables or what ever your using to go from the receiver to the tv, this does sometimes make a diference, also if there are alot of devices on a power strip on one outlette this can rob your a/v equipment of resources and bog it all down much like using a 350 watt power supply on a computer that needs a 400 watt psu.

Then it's probably the 508.
And by that , I mean the firmware in the 508 - nothing you can do about it.

I have one, and ignore the occasional glitches.... though, I've noticed they've gotten worse this year.