Zero Quality

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

tregletasu

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Aug 3, 2010
Georgia
Installed SV-HD8000 with Invacom QPH-031 LNB, EMP centauri quad switch, SG2100 motor and 30" dish and I am new to FTA, thus please educate me gently.
While using "dish settings" of menu I can see many satellites that have a signal strength of 60 and better (i still have to fine tune the alignment) but ALL satellites show zero quality signal. Is my receiver defective?

Is my receiver defective?

no...chances are your motor/dish are not setup/aimed correctly...

the signal "S" does not really mean much, that just means you have a good connection to your dish...you could aim your dish into the ground and still get a good signal reading...

the quality "Q" is whats important...this is what tells you if you are aimed good and receiving signals from the satellite...

what process did you use to install your motor/dish assembly?...motor setups can be tricky especially for a beginner...the first and most important part is you need to make sure your mounting post is 100% LEVEL and i mean not even one degree off i can not stress this enough...

on a side note...a 30 inch dish i would consider on the small side for receiving ku-band linear sats...

I agree I didn't start simple but usually I can solve technical issues.
The pole is perfect vertical. I am at latitude 33.97 and I set the motor bracket accordingly (34), the motor manual list for this latitude a dish bracket angel of 24.5 which I applied. I don't know anything else I can do at the dish site.