My Top Five Improvements to Dish DVR software

For me:

1. Increase or eliminate the timer / event limit.
  2. Add an option to sort by episode number or original air date (as a secondary sort to name).
    I'm baffled that after all these years this isn't there, since it's such a no-brainer to have this.
  3. Use the same UI and behavior for EHD recordings as the regular recordings.
    As a software developer I'm amazed that they chose to change the UI and behavior for EHD recordings as opposed to just re-using the code from regular recordings.
  4. Add a way to skip events that are already being skipped by priority (and preferrably multiple at once).
    When I manualy skip an event, frequently a different event will "un-skip" because it was previously skipped by priority and it now fits in the freed up time slot.
    Most of those "un-skipped" events tend to be ones that I do want skipped in the first place.
    If you could mark them as "skip" while they were already skipped by priority, then it would probably take a lot less time to manage timers since the DVR could just ignore those when evaluating events.
  5. Add a search option to search movies by the "star" rating.
To me 3 out of these 5 (2, 3 and 5) should be fairly easy and quick to develop and test, and would make a significant enough difference in the user experience.
There are many more than just those 3 that could improve things quite a bit.
Rather than adding big features, perhaps take just one software update to just focus on small things.
That should be fairly safe, easy and should make a lot of people happy.

Hi espnsti, I'd love to see a search by star rating as well. I'm sure it would help to get more out of the premium subscriptions.