Welcome to SatelliteGuys!

Get rid of many of these ads and be part of our community! Registration is FREE!

CLICK HERE TO SIGN UP!

Over The Air Channel Frequencies?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by davidki, May 21, 2009.

  1. davidki

    davidki Thread Starter New Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be a bit confusing but hopefully someone here can help. I have a coolsat 8100hd I use for my OTA HD channels and PVR recording it is great and to be able to record my real (not compressed) HD shows is a real plus! Now I have a bit of an issue and no one at Coolsat can answer this question.

    I have scanned all my OTA DTV channels and pick up all of the with the exception of channel 4 and 4.1 which to me makes no sense. I have plenty of signal and I can use the same antenna coax from my HDTV antenna and pick up channel 4 and 4.1 on my cheap $40.00 DTV-Analog converter box and my Sony 40" DTV. I have other TV's in the house with ATSC tuners wish all pick up channel 4 fine with signal levels of 85+

    I have tried auto scans and manual scans and don't get it. From what I can see, the local channel is running on channel "10" digital but no where can I find a frequency chart that shows the frequencies that match the digital channels for OTA.

    In the Coolsat, there is a way to plug in a frequency and try to lock it in, but I need to know that frequency. My brother has an 8000hd, he is in Canada and watches tv from Buffalo.... he said he numbes he comes up with in the manual scan for channel is 623000 so, I try to plug that in and I get nothing. I"m a little fuzzy on this "Channel 10" pre June 12 vs after June 12 thing.

    this may all blow over on June 12th but I can not understand why I can get the channels on my Sony, Vizio and even my cheap radio shack converter box, but I can't lock in on the Coolsat...

    So, if anyone has any ideas suggestions, Frequencies I can enter manually in to the CS 8100hd I'd appreciate the help.. I"m just a bit frustraited I can't pull it in..
    Avatar

    Advertisements Register Today!



    Reigster at SatelliteGuys
  2. dfergie

    dfergie Proud Staff Member Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU!

    Top Poster Of Month

    Posts:
    71,495
    Likes Received:
    173
    Welcome to SatelliteGuys! for some reason your post got Moderated...
  3. No Static At All

    No Static At All Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    First, go to www.tvfool.com. Then enter your location, and you can easily cross reference the "real" channel numbers (the "actual" broadcast channel #) with the "virtual" channel number (the channel # your TV dispalys)

    Hope this helps
  4. CowboyDren

    CowboyDren PIT MEMBER

    Posts:
    990
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not likely a matter of signal strength so much as quality. ATSC tuners can be very picky about interference, especially multipath, and there can be a LOT of difference between one tuner and another.
  5. Jim5506

    Jim5506 SatelliteGuys Family Pub Member / Supporter

    Posts:
    5,338
    Likes Received:
    20
    ATSC channel frequencies are the same as the old NTSC channel frequencies, Google is your friend.
  6. air.jason

    air.jason PIT MEMBER

    Posts:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nashville 4.1 (ATSC 10)

    In Nashville, I am picking up Channel 4 (ATSC 10) on 193250. Hope that helps with your scan.
  7. davidki

    davidki Thread Starter New Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the info and help, I am guessing the Coolsat 8100hd is the issue as I checked the signal using my converter and I have a 90+% signal and I get teh channel just fine with the TV and the converter box.. I tried to enter the frequency directly and it does not pick up the station, so, my guess... it's the Coolsat..

    Again, thanks for the info and reply, I do appreciate the input.. .
  8. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!! Supporting Founder

    Posts:
    91,176
    Likes Received:
    96
    I moved the thread to the FTA area since the Coolsats are involved

    I cant help right now as all my Minneapolis locals are on UHF until 6/12 when Fox & NBC move to their analog spots (9 & 11)

    anyone with a Coolsat 8000/8100 and OTA digital channels in VHF hi band that can confirm??
  9. davidki

    davidki Thread Starter New Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks to all for the help, I'm continuing to look at the issues and do my research including haveing a great discussion with the engineer at Channel 4 in Nashville about before and after the transition frequencies in the area. TV fool and Antenna web has also been helpful. One thing is that with the Coolsat 8100hd I can look at the specific frequencies of each channel it locks on to. But, when I manually input 193250 there is a constant 68% signal but 0 quality, so I don't think the signal is actually from the station.

    With my set up I have one large antenna with amplifier in the attic, I then take that to each room as a separate OTA feed for vhf and uhf. Each of my TVS that have a built in digital tuner Sony and Vizio I can scan and get channel 4 (10 digital on 193250) as well as 2 separate converter boxes. All the TV's and the converter box show signal levels of between 85 and 90% so, I am guessing that is a pretty good basis to go on. I can take the same cable (from the wall) to either my Sony and or converter box which are both working hook it up to the CS8100hd and I get all the current channels with the exception of 4 (10 digital)... so, I'm pretty much down to the point that the coolsat just either a very bad tuner or something is wrong with mine. The big test will come when the local stations make their big change next week and 2 more stations end up on the lower end of the band and see if I loose them completlely.

    I'ts all magic and I need a new hat to pull the rabit out of it!

    Sorry for being so detailed.. but if there are others out there with a cs 8000 or 8100hd I hope to hear from you on your experiances
  10. B.J.

    B.J. SatelliteGuys Family

    Posts:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    For channel 10, try 195000 .

    Although the bands are the same as the old NTSC analog, I think the digital channels use the center frequency of the band, while analog, and video and audio in separate sections of the band, so the digital freqs wouldn't be the same as either analog video or audio. .


    EDIT: From http://www.fcc.gov/fcc-bin/tvq?list=0&facid=41232 see band is 192-198 center of that is 195.



    WSMV-TV TN NASHVILLE USA (Digital)

    Licensee: MEREDITH CORPORATION
    Service Designation: DT Digital television station
    Channel: 10 192 - 198 MHz Licensed
    File No.: BLCDT-20021029AAV Facility ID number: 41232
    CDBS Application ID No.: 616584

    36° 08' 27.00" N Latitude
    86° 51' 56.00" W Longitude (NAD 27)
  11. davidki

    davidki Thread Starter New Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks BJ

    WEll, I'll give that a try but the cheif engineer at the tV station said they broad cast their Digital 10 on a frequency of 193250 and that was also verified by another poster here.. I plug that frequency in to my CS8100hd manually in the DTV manual scan and I still see nothing.. i'ts a real quagmire for sure.
  12. B.J.

    B.J. SatelliteGuys Family

    Posts:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 193.25 is the center of the video carrier of an analog channel. If they used that for digital, it would cut their bandwidth quite a bit.
    My Coolsat 8100 and Diamond 9000 and my Air2PC card all use the center of the band, not the analog video freq.
  13. davidki

    davidki Thread Starter New Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, I'll have to check it out

    BJ, as my wife would say... you get the star on the refrigerator tonight! That was it 195000! I get both the 4.1 and 4.2 .... thanks so much.. I wonder why when I scanned the channels both auto and manually it didn't pick up anything..

    now I will probably need your help once they make the digital switch on Channel 5 and 8 after the 12th of June if it isn't picked up in auto scan. I'll have to look up what frequencies they are on TV fool... its shows the digital frequencies..

    So, thank you so very much ... this is wonderful... even after talking to Coolsat several times and plugging in and scaning the other frequencies I was at a loss.. so with you frequency it came right up and added it to my receiver..

    Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!
  14. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!! Supporting Founder

    Posts:
    91,176
    Likes Received:
    96
    sweet. I knew someone would come through for ya :)
  15. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!! Supporting Founder

    Posts:
    91,176
    Likes Received:
    96
    to scan the low band just scan between 54-87 MHz...that is the low band (2-6)

    very odd that you have a station going back to the VHF low band...not many doing those
  16. hd fan

    hd fan Active SatelliteGuys Member

    Posts:
    750
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also wonder why it did not scan in when in auto mode then?.
  17. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!! Supporting Founder

    Posts:
    91,176
    Likes Received:
    96
    the 8000/8100 has to be set just right to scan or it doesnt work...you have to set the high and low points and the steps when scanning

    i have the steps be 1000 (the default is 6000) and that scans right
  18. davidki

    davidki Thread Starter New Member

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    WEll it was a real intersting issue to deal with, I"m not sure why they are moving things like channel 5 and 8 after June 12th, but that's the FCC for you... I also thought about changing the steps, the standard 6000 doesn't apply here I guess because of all the channels and sub channels. I also don't know why the coolsat didn't see it. I guess, it does not sweep the complete band and in between.. the digital channels are actually all over the place. On June 12th I'll just have to see what the auto scan does and if that doent work I'll have to figure out what numbers to plug in for the 2 moved channels.

    All in all I am so thankful that I now have all the DTV channels in my area...
  19. B.J.

    B.J. SatelliteGuys Family

    Posts:
    2,029
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I missed something? What are you referring to relative to the FCC moving channels 5 and 8 ??
  20. Iceberg

    Iceberg We're here....RUN!!!! Supporting Founder

    Posts:
    91,176
    Likes Received:
    96
    some stations are temporaily on UHF right now. Come June 12th/13th they will move to the same spot as where the analog channel was

    examples
    Here in Minneapolis Fox is on 9 and NBC is on 11 analog. Digital they are on 26 & 35

    come 6/12 or 6/13 they are shutting down the digital stations and moving to 9 & 11 and be digital there. So in markets like mine where we have used a UHF only antenna for digital for 6-9 years now we may need a VHF/UHF antenna

    alot of VHF Hi stations are moving the digital channels to 7-13.

Share This Page

Links monetized by VigLink
Sucuri