Ultra HD Blu-ray Spec Completed

dfergie

Proud Staff Member
Original poster
Staff member
HERE TO HELP YOU!
The Blu-ray Disc Association (BDA) has agreed a batch of standards for ‘next generation’ Ultra-HD Blu-ray discs. The news, reported by trade magazineLarge Display Monitor, says that the BDA will support three High Dynamic Range (HDR) technologies, including Dolby Vision, and the HDR on offer from Philips and a joint-suggestion from Technicolor that’s part of the MPEG/SMPTE proposals.

Source & More: advancedtelevision.com

I am glad that there is no Format War this time around. The adoption should be quick!

A lot of things will be implemented in stages........which will drag things out.

I am sure some features will be missing initially, but with the standards being finalized, at least the road is now clear. And even though there is no competing disk format, there is a huge competitive pressure coming from Netflix and such. So, if the BDA members want this new format to succeed they have to move fast and they have to do it right from the start, or they may not be given another chance. This very well might be the last physical media for movies ever...

Reactions: navychop
Ultra HD Blu-ray Spec Completed, Consumer Products Expected Later This Year
The Blu-ray Disc Association has completed an Ultra HD Blu-ray technical specification that will lead to the release of players and discs that support the new format. Manufacturers will be able to license Ultra HD Blu-Ray beginning in July and, presumably, consumer products will begin to roll out later in the year.
The format supports Ultra HD 4K TV resolution (3840x2160), as well as enables high dynamic range (HDR), high frame rates and object-based immersive sound. HDR—a wider range between the whitest whites and blackest blacks—could either be delivered using the BDA-developed “BD HDR” portion of the new spec or by using certain supported HDR formats such as Dolby Vision.

hollwoodreporter.com

Press Release