2009 College Football Feeds

Status
Please reply by conversation.

signal.quest

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
May 29, 2009
Near Scranton, PA
I am new to FTA and have been doing a lot of reading on forums and trying to decide what hardware to buy. I want to get as much college football as possible this fall. Due to trees and neighbors houses, I will need to install the dish on my roof. My questions:

1- How much college football can I obtain on KU?
2- Will I miss much if I can't get C band?
3- Where can the HD content be found?
4- Which satellites will have most of the feeds?
5- Should I get an analog receiver or will all analog content be gone now?

I am starting to compile a spreadsheet of past years postings of college football feeds to figure out what was where. Does anyone know if this year will be different than past years? Thanks.

I suspect that many of the Ku feeds will be on 105W, 91W and 74W . Fact is, though, until about an hour before game time, I generally have no certainty at all. I start blindscanning the usual suspects, and note the tp's that are newly found, then check them out. The thing out FTA is whomever is doing an uplink is free to pick any bird that has the power, and even free to use fiber instead of satellite. Nothing is certain.
:)

I am starting to compile a spreadsheet of past years postings of college football feeds to figure out what was where. Does anyone know if this year will be different than past years? Thanks.

I did the same thing last year because the networks seem to use the same few satellites each week. One thing I wonder about this year is ESPN's new contract with the SEC. Last year most ESPN and ABC games were on C band, but with the new SEC contract maybe we will get more games on Ku? We'll see.

1. lots...from big games to small college "public access" type broadcasts ya never know how many in a week you will get
2. HD yes...SD no. C-Band mainly is for some HD feeds and the "larger" network games