222k install with only home distribution

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

samedaysatellite

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jan 2, 2009
Illinois
I am a tech and we only carry 722k 222k and 211k at our retail shop. We have ran into an issue with sometimes people only have two tv's and both only have coax input (crazy I know!). However, when we go to install a 222k (or 722k), TV2 is the only one that will display. I understand that this is because the modulator is turned off for TV1 by default. I have tried putting it in single mode and utilizing tv2 display to navigate in the menu etc for setup however, we get the common message that TV1 is using this screen an no changes can be made yadayadayada. I have yet to discover a work around other than carrying a rf modulator on the van for temporary use during installation. Anyone have better ideas?

carry a small digital tv?

I think the rf modulator/switch is much more feasible in comparison. Id rater not have a small tv rattleing around in the van. Rf switch are dime a dozen. I'm just trying to think of a quicker way without having to temporarily hook up any other componet during setup.

I carry a small tv for just that reason. I bought a small flat didgital tv from HSN not to long ago, this has made my life alot easier. I cant see any otherway before you can actual access the menus after activation.

And being a DNS tech we technically arent even allowed to carry any extra tools.

You're making sure that TV1 is off? On the receiver, that is, the yellow light is off? You can't change TV1 modulator settings in dual mode?

Maybe something in this thread will help: