About to Pull the trigger on Dish, Making sure I got all my bases covered!

adam61

SatelliteGuys Family
Original poster
Jul 19, 2006
This is my first time with satellite so sorry if I missed anything. I read all the major stickied posts and did the whole Dish vs DirecTV thing and I'm thinking since I wouldn't get NFL sunday ticket, and have an HDTV Dish was the way to go. Let me make sure I have a couple things right...

I have 2 TVs, One HD one SD and I would like both to have DVR capability. I've narrowed myself down to 2 packages as well, the best package without premiums, and then the premium loaded package. Let me make sure my prices are right and I'm not missing anything. I also want locals and the HD package regardless.

On DirecTV the best package without premiums (TC+) would be $71/month(Total Choice Plus+HD+DVR+Lease Fee) or $115/month for Platinum. Seems like it might be a better deal if I go cheaper but doesn't give as big a discount if I add in all the premiums. I would also pay $299 which includes the recievers and installation.

On Dish the best package without premiums is $81/month (DishHD Gold+Lease Fee+DVR Fee). And the best package with all premiums is $111/mo? It seems like it won't let me get a DVR for both my HD and SD TV, is this accurate or am I missing something? THere is a $250 fee to get going which is for recievers and installation.

That's what I learned from research, it seems like if I go premium Dish has more HD channels and is a little cheaper, with no significant downsides. For budgeting purposes how much in additional taxes/fees would be added on top of the $111? Is there anything else I need to know? Do I need a HDMI cable or whatever to hook up the box or does that come with the installation? Little stuff like that. Thanks for your help!

Welcome. :wave