1. System Upgrade THIS SUNDAY!

    This Sunday SatelliteGuys will be upgrading its forum software to the new 2.x version. The work to upgrade will take a few hours. Work is expected to start early Sunday Morning. For more details please visit our Operations Center Forum

    Thank you for your support!
    CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
    Dismiss Notice

Additional location

Discussion in 'DISH Network Support Forum' started by long_time_DNC, Jul 11, 2004.

  1. long_time_DNC

    long_time_DNC Topic Starter Politically Incorrect Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    10,890
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, where it rains a lot...
    I've got a question that hopefully someone here can answer. I have a vacation cabin on a lake about an hour NE of my home here. I have two receivers in my home and would like to put one (and a dish) on the cabin.

    Can I just add it to my present subscription/bill (Everything Pak) even though it's at another location, or do I have open another account?

    It's not that I would mind opening another account, but it wouldn't be another Everything Pak subscription at the cabin...probably more like an AT120. I just don't see why I couldn't add it as another receiver on my present account.

    Anyone have any thoughts/suggestions on this?

    Thanks!
     
  2. SimpleSimon

    SimpleSimon SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Florissant, CO
    Buy yourself a dish off eBay and mount it. Make sure you get at least the same type of LNBF (DishPro vs. Legacy). It'll be easiest on you if you can get the exact same setup (Quad vs. Twin, switches, etc.). Carry your receiver back and forth. :)

    Did I say that?
     
  3. long_time_DNC

    long_time_DNC Topic Starter Politically Incorrect Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    10,890
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, where it rains a lot...
    Not a bad idea, but I don't want have to disconnect/reconnect one of my receivers from inside either of the home entertainment cabinets I have them in. :) All those wires are pain. :(

    So, that brings me back to my original question: will Dish install another dish 500 and a receiver at my cabin and add it to my existing billing, or do I have to open another account? Anyone know?

    Thanks!
     
  4. Chuckster

    Chuckster Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe you can add the additional reciever to your account.You would either have to purchase the reciever or lease it,depending on what type of promotion you under with Dish.You will also have to pay to have the dish installed on your cabin(or install it yourself for free).
     
  5. SimpleSimon

    SimpleSimon SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Florissant, CO
    Unh. I think E* is going to consider this two separate accounts.

    Let me make my HINT a little clearer. Add a third receiver to your account. Carry it back and forth - wink, wink, nudge, nudge.
     
  6. MikeD-C05

    MikeD-C05 Pub Member / Supporter Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Posts:
    25,016
    Likes Received:
    13,713
    Location:
    Nederland , Texas
    You could use the dish mover so Dish will install a new dish at your cabin and install up to one or two receivers. You keep your billing address the same as your house address the service address will now be your cabin. When you are through say a day or so, You can call back and tell dish that your service address is now the same as your billing address: " I moved back home." You now have two dishes at two different houses and you can keep both of the receivers hooked up at two different addresses. Just don't plug the second receiver at your cabin in to a phone line and you will be fine. You won't be at both houses at the same time so you aren't really using it at two different addresses at the same time. Charlie himself trucks one of his receivers with him to his cabin and he has two dishes. He even said that on one of the Charlie Chats.

    This is the easiest way for you to get two sat dishes at both residences and it won't cost you anything . They might make you commit to top 60 for a year or so to get the dishmover but I am really not sure. Check out the dishwebsite and see for your self the details. By the way if you can get locals at your cabin and not at your billing address because Dish doesn't offer them yet, you might keep the service address the cabin address and you can get the locals for that area if you like them better. We call that "virtual moving", but in your case it would kind of be true.
     
  7. Stargazer

    Stargazer Supporting Founder Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    16,561
    Likes Received:
    335
    Location:
    Western WV
    I have a second house that me and my family goes to from time to time (hunting property) and have a dish up there as well. I took a few receivers up there with me (since we cannot agree on what to watch) and have a cheap dish up there but can always add a PrimeStar dish to get my locals up there as well (its in the same DMA as my main house). I didnt want to put a SuperDish up at the second house since it is so expensive. I dont even have a phone up there and have well water and no gas, just an electric bill (its way out in the country). I keep my DVR's at the main house.
     
  8. BOYCOTT26

    BOYCOTT26 SatelliteGuys Family

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Listen to what Simple Simon is telling you,it can't be that much of a
    hassel to disconnect a few wires and a cable and put it in your car
    and reconnect at your cabin.Think of the money you will SAVE.
     
  9. TNGTony

    TNGTony Unashamed Bengal Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Posts:
    9,995
    Likes Received:
    779
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
    1)power
    2)Satellite cable
    3)Audio Video Cable - (3 connectors/color coded)

    Optional
    4) TOS Link for Digital Audio.

    THAT'S IT, versus the cost of a whole new account? It's a no brainer. :D

    BTW if the antenna is hooked up through the Dish receiver, it shouldn't be! There's no need. That is unless it's a 5000, 6000, 811 or 921. Chances are it's not. :)

    See ya
    Tony
     
  10. SimpleSimon

    SimpleSimon SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Florissant, CO
    I guess I gotta spell it out for some of you.
    A d d 3 r d r e c e i v e r t o h o m e a c c o u n t . I n s t a l l 3 r d r e c e i v e r a t v a c a t i o n h o m e .
     
  11. stratguy

    stratguy SatelliteGuys Pro Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    Simon have you been drinking?
    :D

    Bob
     
  12. stratguy

    stratguy SatelliteGuys Pro Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    Oh no simon what else have you had along with your beer?
    :D :D
     
  13. stratguy

    stratguy SatelliteGuys Pro Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Posts:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville
    OK simon thats it we need to get you in a treatment center now!
    :D :D :D

    Bob
     
  14. new_to_hdtv

    new_to_hdtv SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Posts:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    not far enough North
    I just asked Dish the exact same ? and here's their reply :

    Thank you for your e-mail. If they would like to have DISH Network at two separate homes, additional equipment is required and two separate accounts. A second DISH antenna is necessary to capture the DISH Network signal at your second home. If purchased direct through our offices, a 20" Dish is $49.00 plus $14.95 shipping and handling. The 20" Dish Assembly includes the dish, LNBF Arm (the arm and bracket the dish attaches to), and the mounting mast (the pole and foot). This DOES NOT include an LNBF (the eye facing the dish). DISH Network offers many types of LNBF's depending on how many tuners you desire. They can purchase the Legacy dual LNBF which can be used to see only one orbital location and for direct connection of up to two tuners; two (2) Legacy Dual LNBFs' can be used in conjunction with a multi-dish switch to view multiple orbital locations. The Legacy Dual LNBF can be purchased for $79.00 with an additional charge of $8.95 for shipping and handling.

    We also have many retailers that can assist them dwith all of your DISH Network needs. To find a list of local retailers, please visit the following link (http://www.dishnetwork.com/search/retailer/index.asp). Please note some of our retailers may not be listed online. For more retailers in your area, please check your local Yellow Pages under "satellite".

    If an additional tuner is needed, DISH Network's stand-alone tuners are priced as listed but do not include the 20" DISH Antenna or the LNBF:

    Model 300 series $ 99

    500 Series Tuner $299

    Model 811 $399

    Model 921 $999

    *plus $14.95 shipping for each additional tuner when ordered directly from DISH Network. We would need to collect these fees before the tuner can be shipped. There will also be a $4.99 monthly fee for the additional tuner to receive programming. DISH Video-On-Demand fees apply to DISH Player-DVR 510, DISH Player-DVR 522 and DISH Player-DVR 921 customers.

    At this time, we do have promotions available to our existing customers offering equipment discounts. Please contact our Customer Service Center at 1-800-333-3474. Some of the promotions do have expiration dates, so please call at your earliest convenience.

    Customers who own MORE than two tuners or dishes may be required to purchase a SW-44 switch ($119.00). Customers who receive signal from three satellite locations will be required to purchase an SW-64 switch ($149.00). These costs would be paid at the time of installation.

    Installation of a second dish begins at $99.00 and could cost up to $199.00. Once you have your equipment installed, you will need to contact our Customer Service Center to activate your second account.

    To place an order for any of the above promotions or offers please contact our Customer Service Center at 1-800-333-3474.
     
  15. SimpleSimon

    SimpleSimon SatelliteGuys Master Supporting Founder

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    5,693
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Florissant, CO
    I'm headed there now - Vancouver, BC for a week or so. :D
     
  16. long_time_DNC

    long_time_DNC Topic Starter Politically Incorrect Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2004
    Posts:
    10,890
    Likes Received:
    989
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, where it rains a lot...
    You guys bust me up! :D

    Thanks for the good (and useful) information though! I'll find some way to make all this work. :)

    Get to feeling better, Simon. ;)
     

Separate names with a comma.

More...