Aiming a 3LNB dish in metro atlanta, need help.

Status
Please reply by conversation.

Optical Serenity

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jun 4, 2006
Marietta,GA
Hi everyone, I'm a noob, so sorry for the newbie questions...I'm sure I'll have a bunch. i'm continually searching the archives, but this one is specific to me...so thanks in advance.

Just for reference, I live in the zip code 30062, near Sprayberry Rd and Scufflegrit Rd, in Marietta, GA.

I bought a H-20 receiver and a 3LNB dish. Well, I set all the settings on the dish and mounted it. Only issue is, now I get about 89% signal on satellite C, and 0% on A & B.

On A, I get some signal on two of the transponders (mainly #30), but otherwise nothing.

I've tried fine tuning all the adjustments on the dish, and even replaced my coax with RG-6 copper core to insure that wasn't the problem. I have nothing between my dish and my receiver. Using a 50 foot RG-6 line that is brand new.

I do have a few trees in the backyard directly where the dish is pointing. Unfortunately unless I somehow persuade my neighbor otherwise, I can't do much about the trees as they are his, and the neighborhood has tons of covenants about chopping down trees.

Is there any tips or trick I need to try with this? I've reset the receiver too, no help.

Thanks in advance.

Oh, and btw, with my single LNB dish that this is replacing, I had 98% or so reception.

Optical Serenity said:
Hi everyone, I'm a noob, so sorry for the newbie questions...I'm sure I'll have a bunch. i'm continually searching the archives, but this one is specific to me...so thanks in advance.

Just for reference, I live in the zip code 30062, near Sprayberry Rd and Scufflegrit Rd, in Marietta, GA.

I bought a H-20 receiver and a 3LNB dish. Well, I set all the settings on the dish and mounted it. Only issue is, now I get about 89% signal on satellite C, and 0% on A & B.

On A, I get some signal on two of the transponders (mainly #30), but otherwise nothing.