Status
Not open for further replies.

Pepper

DVR Addict~Mad Scientist
Original poster
Supporting Founder
Mar 16, 2004
Satsuma, AL
At my workplace we need some new servers, I am given the task of figuring out exactly what to buy then convincing those who will spend the money why it's the best choice. It's a MS shop, with web hosting and development and SQL database as the primary needs. Our current servers are a mix of P3-XEON machines (HP netservers and compaq) that were cheap and used. They won't handle the load anymore.

I have looked at parts from Intel and barebones servers from SuperMicro. They don't want to spend the big bucks on HP/Compaq, IBM or Dell. The Intel stuff seems overly complicated to design a good server around. The SuperMicro seems a good fit and I am confident about which parts (proc, ram, hd, etc) I need to get to go with them but I have no experience good or bad with this brand. Any other product lines I need to be looking at, any I need to steer away from?

Any input is welcome but I ask that if you reference a specific brand it be one that you have direct experience with.

Where I work we have many SuperMicro based systems but of course they all run Linux, no MS. :) One great board they make, the X5DL8-GG, has 4 separate PCI-X buses (6 slots) :D that come in real handy for one of our products.

The only issue we've seen with those boards was one model had a certain Serverworks chipset that acted a little funny (but nothing too serious) with an old Linux kernel. Needless to say, that problem has been resolved with updated software.

Tux, that board you mention looks quite similar to one I actually have been looking at, the X5DP8-G2, except that it uses the Intel E7501 chipset instead of ServerWorks, and some other minor differences.