Are there receivers controllable via a web interface?

Discussion in 'Free To Air (FTA) Discussion' started by Jomo, Dec 29, 2017.

  1. Jomo

    Jomo Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    So, I've finally got my Ku/HH120 system up and running. I've also switched from a Manhattan receiver to a GeosatPro - the latter does a better job driving the motor, and I get a stronger signal as well. Now...here's the question...

    I use an IP streamer (FBE200) so that I can view the video from the receiver inside and outside of my home. But if I'm outside of my home, I can't change the channel.

    Do any receivers have web interfaces or other mechanisms to allow for changing the channels remotely?
     
  2. danristheman

    danristheman SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    2,459
    Likes Received:
    705
    Location:
    85w
    Talk to Brian he has more info he has a simliar setup i think.
     
  3. Magic Static

    Magic Static FTA Geek
    Staff Member HERE TO HELP YOU! Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Posts:
    5,773
    Likes Received:
    2,475
    Location:
    Montana
    I use a SlingBox on my GeoSAT microHD for remote viewing and control.
     
  4. Jomo

    Jomo Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ah, interesting. I haven't used a SlingBox in a long time...that is definitely an option.

    Also, I looked at the Logitech webpage, and it looks like the GeosatPro and several other receivers are supported. I believe the Harmony Hub was recently updated to allow for it to be accessed outside of the home, so that is an option I think I'll try first, since you can get the hub for <$70 on Amazon.
     
  5. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,150
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Pretty much anything you do at home could be duplicated with a VPN connection to your home router or maybe even a port forward. The Slingbox uses port forwarding but that seems like an extra step if you already have a web interface on the LAN.
     
  6. . Raine

    . Raine SatelliteGuys Pro
    Pub Member / Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Posts:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    792
    Location:
    North America, CT.
    I use a RF remote extender to change channels from other rooms in our house. Depending on the distance you need, one of them might work.
     
  7. bigg t

    bigg t SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    263
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    foothills N.C.
    If you have an Enigma receiver you can use the webif program to control it. My box is networked and can be controlled anywhere in the house or even outside at the dish.
     
  8. Jim S.

    Jim S. When someone asks you if you're a god, you say yes
    Lifetime Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    4,914
    Likes Received:
    363
    Location:
    FN11od
    The Amiko Alien 3 is the only non-Enigma receiver I've ever heard of that has a full-featured web interface that lets you control everything rather than just watching video. It works great when it works, but it inexplicably manages to corrupt itself every so often and needs to have the entire software re-flashed.

    Slingboxes ought to be cheap these days, especially the non-HD ones (if your receiver still has a composite output.)
     
    bigg t likes this.
  9. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,150
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Slingboxen typically use remote commands as opposed to web-based commands. It would work, but it would likely be more painful to navigate than just exposing the receiver to the Internet (hopefully using an uncommon port) and using its web interface directly.
     
  10. bigg t

    bigg t SatelliteGuys Pro

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    263
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    foothills N.C.
    Another plus is that at least here the Amico remote will work from the back porch .
     
  11. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,150
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    I suspect we're getting hung up on exactly what the TS means by "outside of my home".

    It would be useful if the TS (Jomo) would be a little more specific about what they meant in terms of whether the question was one of out in the yard or out on the Internet. The distinction is critical to arriving at a solution.
     
  12. Jomo

    Jomo Topic Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ah, to clarify, "outside of the home" is 5 miles away, so definitely not in range of an off the shelf RF remote solution.

    However, just to update the thread, the Logitech Harmony Hub does now work from the external internet. It used to be the case that you needed to be on the same network, but no longer. So, that appears to be the easy solution - I can control the receiver from the Android app on my phone from anywhere. Someone did get the GeosatPro programmed in, so while it's not the prettiest interface, it works.
     
  13. harshness

    harshness SatelliteGuys Master

    Joined:
    May 5, 2007
    Posts:
    13,150
    Likes Received:
    1,187
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Wouldn't the web interface be a lot more certain than trying to run it by remote control? I very much like having feedback when I'm doing things remotely

    This reminds me of early attempts at remote scheduling on DIRECTV DVRs where the timers were sent via satellite and there was no confirmation (it may still be this way).
     

***

Separate names with a comma.

More...