C-band Dish Score

Status
Please reply by conversation.

tranny

Active SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
Mar 15, 2008
I was looking for some info since I am new to C-band on a complete setup I picked up for free. It is a Channel Mater 8 foot (they told me it was a 10 footer) fiberglass dish. There was a large cover over the feedhorn. Inside there was a 15v Channel Master power box and an Avantek AWC-42090. There was also a Prosat 118 actuator (I think that is what it is) attached to the support arm.

What is the quality of this setup? Is it usable? I did not take the main ground pole because it had about three feet of concrete attached to it.

Thanks in advance.

With the price of pipe these days, I think I would've taken that pole too, lol. But hey, take what you can get, sounds like a good dish if it's not beaten up or warped. Put it up and string it (run string across the face, up and down, and straight across, see if the strings meet or come close to check the parabolic shape)
Should be a good dish for c-band. Unknown about ku band, some early fiberglass dishes weren't put together with ku band in mind. Depends on how it was made.
Avantek made some lnbs and I think earlier lna/downconverter combos, it may still work.
Stick it on a pole and we'll help you get it going!

A solid Channel Master?
Might be a commercial dish...?
If so, that would be pretty nice.

I've PM'd another member who has some, to join this thread.
If you can post a few pictures, that would probably help.

As usual, quick, friendly and knowledgeable help on this forum. Thanks guys. I now have the dish in pieces in my box truck. I will try to post some pics in the next few days. The dish is solid and a little dirty but looks as if it will clean up nice. Seems like I got a good one!

Hey Tranny, click on the link in my sig and take a look at mine. If your dish is that model of Channel Master then you have a fine dish...just make sure you reassemble it properly.

ACRadio,