c band dish setup

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE
Status
Please reply by conversation.

jnoda1

Well-Known SatelliteGuys Member
Original poster
May 24, 2010
miami
Hello, I am new to the Cband dishes and I am having problem setting up the elevation and inclination angles. I live in Miami florida, which is my southernmost sat? It seems that although I set the elevation to the angle that I think its supposed to be at and the inclination to the angle it should be at, it still dont get any quality. I have a sadoun 6' ft dish with a linear actuator installed and Im using a viewsat VS2000 to try to pick up the clarke belt arc. I also have a DMX741 C/KU Band LNBF. Any help in setting up the correct angles would be greatly appreciated. Also a have a gbox positioner but eveytime I hit the remote to move the sat it only moves it one stroke at a time. Is there any way to make it move all the time and how do I get it to work with my receiver, thanks

Last edited:
this is a great link for setting up the polar mount. . . h**p://www.geo-orbit.org/sizepgs/tuningp4.html#anchor797917

i believe with your location your elevation angle should be around 80 degrees and your decline around 9 degrees these you will still need to find tune what you hit your most south sat (79w)

look up the sat you want here h**p://www.lyngsat.com/america.html

it would have been a bit easier to find a sat usin the c band first then fine tune to ku band.

you can use this TP 12177 H 20500 that should be free and open on 79w.

if your dish is in a position where you can get to the LNB to also play with it a bit that would be great.