C Band on a 1m Winegard

Status
Please reply by conversation.

global0

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 31, 2006
37N, 121W
I have read on a few threads such as this one http://www.satelliteguys.us/showthread.php?t=32726 by "Cascade" that receiving C-Band on smaller dishes is feasible. So, I am going to try it with my 1m Winegard.
The first question at this point is, what kind/brand of LNB do I need to get? I have searched on Internet and there are a few candidates, but I wouldn't be able to judge between them as I have no experience with C-Band.

Secondly, once we have passed the curiosity point, there is the question that "is there really stuff on C-Band that is not available on Ku?" If most of the stuff on C-Band, is also relayed on Ku, then it would be difficult to justify it?!

And finally, can this be done with a dual LNB configuration to have both Ku and C LNBs on the same dish?

Thanks in advance!

global0 said:
I have read on a few threads such as this one http://www.satelliteguys.us/showthread.php?t=32726 by "Cascade" that receiving C-Band on smaller dishes is feasible. So, I am going to try it with my 1m Winegard.
The first question at this point is, what kind/brand of LNB do I need to get? I have searched on Internet and there are a few candidates, but I wouldn't be able to judge between them as I have no experience with C-Band.
I use a DMSI 421 C-Band LNBF. PSB has them (www.psbsatellite.com)

Secondly, once we have passed the curiosity point, there is the question that "is there really stuff on C-Band that is not available on Ku?" If most of the stuff on C-Band, is also relayed on Ku, then it would be difficult to justify it?!
Mike I had some success with analog and a 100cm
http://www.satelliteguys.us/showpost.php?p=522058&postcount=440

But no. Most of what is on C-Band isnt on KU. There are some channels and feeds. I am working with a 6 footer tryign to get some networks on Galaxy 4 and mainly working at the top of my arc (91-99)