can anyone help

shaun-ohio

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 31, 2004
ohio
hello: i have switched over to dishnetwork with 2 811's and 1 322, my question is i hook up the ota cable coming in from outside with the ota antenna that voom gave me, but on the 811 i have did several channel scans for the local channels to be picked up with the ota, but it scans but it cant find no ota channels, what am i doing wrong? this is my first time with the 811 and dishnetwork, thanks, shaun

I am not familiar with the 811 (you may want to post this in our E* forum), but what I think might be happening is that if you had an amplified antenna and a diplexer, your antenna was getting voltage from the VOOM STB. Since you've disconnected it from the STB, it no longer gets power. If that's the case, you need to buy a power supply for your antenna.

Good luck!

What is happening, if your antenna was amplified from voom, it was connected to their multiswitch which passed power through the antennaport on the switch to power the amp. Dish networks switch does not pass power through the antenna port, only through the sat ports. It turn no power to the antenna. Pick up a amp from your local store connect it to the line to power the preamp.

no the multiswitch that voom supplied to me it is not amplified, they were in the process of replacing the non amplified one with an amplified one when they went under, i wanted the installer to hook the antenna up here when he installed the dishnetwork system, but he told me he didnt know how to do that, i just figured that the ota antenna coax hooked into the dishnetwork multiswitch mabey im wrong on this one? thanks, again, shaun

shaun-ohio said: