Cancelled Netflix

69Mustang

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Sep 21, 2005
I canceled my promo Netflix account. Got 3 HD DVD's and all three were so scratched that my A3 either stopped or froze while playing their movies. I cleaned each disc with a new damp chamois after following their instructions on disc cleaning before playing the movie. No complaints about the service.

Blades of Glory
Sea biscuit
Fearless

My A3 works great with movies from my collection and I did the 1.3 firmware upgrade.

I thought I would post this to see if any others have ran into problems with the poor condition of their HD DVD's that Netflix is renting?

Ive seen these complaints before BUT, Ive been renting from Netflix for over 7 years and renting BD's since March(HDDVD's since Nov). Ive NEVER gotten a HD format disc that would not play, and the only DVD's that Ive had issue with were broken in transit (less than 20).

Im on the four out a time and will not change to anything else until its proven to be better. Tried blockbuster about 4 different times, nothing but slow turnaround and more broken discs.

Not only HD-DVDs. I've had problems with their regular DVDs too. I guess some people are not as careful with rented DVDs.

Not enough for me to cancel, though, they are very responsive in sending you a replacement if you report the disct as unplayable. It still sucks having to stop watching a movie right in the middle, though.

I also encountered this before. We ended up canceling a month later, just because DTV gave us an awesome deal on every channel. Its ended now, i took advantage of teh free trial of netflix again, and am back in the process of convincing the wife its time to sign up again.

I've been with Netflix for six years and only 2 times can I remember having a problem with a broken/unplayable disk. However, a few weeks ago I started getting BD from them and already I've had one unplayable (scratched) disk: Invincible (ironically enough). :p