Status
Please reply by conversation.

Chewie

SatelliteGuys Pro
Original poster
Jan 12, 2009
California
Hello Gents
I was planning on setting up my Sat dish pole in the ground this weekend but the weather is about 100 d. out here. I have quikrete bags and the instructions details the cement should be pour in about 75 d. weather. next weekend the weather will be about 90 to 92 d.
I looked around on the web for some ideas on how get it done in the hot weather, but maybe any of you guys have better ideas.
please let me know.
Thanks in advance.
Chewie:confused:

It shouldn't be that hot in the ground. Pour the concrete and keep a sprinkler lightly sprinkling and keep it wet for a couple days or so it doesn't cure to quick.

I'm no cement expert, but let me ask this...

What if you used regular cement instead of the quickcrete?
Then, follow the suggestion above: keep a wet towel over the top and maintain moisture (light sprinkler sounds good).
Give it three days (?) to set up.
Make sure there is shade over your work, too.

In those circumstances, the quickcrete would set up in three hours, generating lots of heat.
That's probably not what you want.
Maybe one of you cement experts can comment?

As long as you keep it slightly wet you shouldn't have a problem with it curing, normally when they pull down in hot weather I've seen them cover it with burlap and they keep it wet. I'm sure you could even use your wife's bath towel to keep it moist

I had quite a bit of experience working with concrete when I was young and working in construction. You should be fine simply pouring it into a hole in the ground. The ground temperature will be much lower than the 100 degree air temperature.