Check switch ok but loses signal

focalf5

Original poster
Jun 1, 2006
Hey, tried a search but couldnt come up with the answer I am looking for. I have been a tech for only about 2 months and I am still having problems with trouble/service calls but it is getting better. I just had a question about a problem I ran into today, my FSM said he didnt know what the problem was. Anyways if there is a tech who could help me out, that would be great. I was on a service call and had an isolated problem with a 301. I ran checkswitch and it came at all ok with a dish pro lnb. So I didnt know what to think but for some reason that receiver only kept losing signal, the others were fine. I changed the lnb quad and tried it again, checkswitch came out ok again but kept losing signal. I realigned the dish and ran another check and the signal on 119 and 110 went up about 10 but was still lower by about 10 than the other 2 receivers. So anyways I changed the receiver and left it on the entire time I was cleaning up and doing paperwork and it never lost signal so I guess something was up with the receiver. So my question is, why or how would the checkswitch come out ok and signal was 98 and 88 and it still lost signal? Maybe a dumb question but I just didnt understand it. Btw when I hooked the new 311 up the signal went to 125 and 115 but was 98/88 on the 301. Sorry for the long post but any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Edit: If this is in the wrong section, I apologize.

Last edited:
Bad receiver most likely, a coax going bad, an unrated barrel connection is another, faulty power outlette even is a possibility.

Your FSM sounds like he is as new as you if he couldnt come up with any idea's but dish has been hiring anyone that comes in off the street over the last 6 months or so. Word of advice from an ex dish employee, get out while you can and you will be a happier person for it.

focalf5 said: