[COMCAST] Comcast DVR vs Dish Network DVR

• WELCOME TO THE NEW SERVER!

If you are seeing this you are on our new server WELCOME HOME!

While the new server is online Scott is still working on the backend including the cachine. But the site is usable while the work is being completes!

Thank you for your patience and again WELCOME HOME!

CLICK THE X IN THE TOP RIGHT CORNER OF THE BOX TO DISMISS THIS MESSAGE

opus724

Original poster
Feb 28, 2006
I'm new to Comcast - been using Dish for the past several years but I just moved to a building where Dish is not available. Any comments on Comcast's DVR vs Dish? Any quirks I should watch out for?

A few questions I have already -

1. How do I jump forward or back several hours in the Guide? I see how to jump by day, but not by hours.

2. The DVR makes it easy to set the start time 5 minutes earlier, but I don't see much use for that - would like to be able to set it 1 minute earlier, but I don't see any easy way to accomplish that.

3. Does the DVR go into standby mode after a certain period of time, or is it always on? Is it recommended to turn it off periodically?
Will it automatically turn itself on to record?

4. Any way to search based on an entry in the Guide?

Also, I've noticed there's a slight delay when going from pause to play, something that didn't occur with Dish. Anyone else notice this?

Thanks for your help!

Steve

opus724 said:
I'm new to Comcast - been using Dish for the past several years but I just moved to a building where Dish is not available. Any comments on Comcast's DVR vs Dish? Any quirks I should watch out for?

A few questions I have already -

1. How do I jump forward or back several hours in the Guide? I see how to jump by day, but not by hours.

2. The DVR makes it easy to set the start time 5 minutes earlier, but I don't see much use for that - would like to be able to set it 1 minute earlier, but I don't see any easy way to accomplish that.